Philpot, Bonavia Earn Big South Men’s Soccer Postseason Honors

Philpot, Bonavia Earn Big South Men’s Soccer Postseason Honors

Spartanburg, S.C. – USC Upstate men's soccer student-athletes Cam Philpot and Andrea Bonavia were recognized by the Big South Conference on Friday morning as the league's head coaches voted them to the All-Conference and All-Freshman Teams.

Philpot was named Big South Second Team All-Conference while Bonavia garnered a spot on the Big South All-Freshman Team. Philpot was also selected by the conference's sports information directors to the Big South All-Academic Team.

Philpot led USC Upstate offensively this season with 14 points on six goals and two assists. He recorded two game-winning goals against UNC Asheville and Winthrop. The senior ranked seventh or better in the conference in shots, shots per game, points and goals. In conference play, Philpot was tied for first in points and second in goals. He tallied two multi-goal games at Winthrop and Longwood while dishing out assists versus Presbyterian College and Radford. Philpot currently has a 3.865 grade-point average and is majoring in business administration.

Bonavia made 14 appearances in goal this season with 11 starts. He led the team with 93 saves and a .715 save percentage. The freshman logged his first career shutout in his first collegiate appearance with a 2-0 win at UNC Asheville. He ranked first in the conference in saves and saves per game, and fifth in shutouts. Bonavia was named the Big South Defensive Player of the Week on Oct. 15 following a 10 save performance during a 3-0 win over Presbyterian College. He had double-digit saves three times during the season including a career-high 11 against Furman and South Carolina.

Follow USC Upstate men's soccer on Facebook (UpstateAthletics), Twitter (@UpstateMSoccer), Instagram (@upstatespartans), YouTube (USCUpstateAthletics) and text/e-mail alerts (

First Team All-Conference
Illias Kosmidis, F, High Point
Amadou Macky Diop, F, Radford
JJ Donnelly, F, Campbell
Tony Pineda, MF, High Point
Ryan Inman, MF, High Point
Jordan Barbara, MF, Presbyterian College
Oskar Wang, MF, Gardner-Webb
Johnny Fenwick, D, High Point
Rashid Tetteh, D, High Point
Gideon Betz, D, Campbell
Michael Barrow, D, Campbell
Keegan Meyer, GK, High Point
Kieran Roberts, AL, Radford

Second Team All-Conference
Willie Miezan, F, Longwood
Marcos Kitromilides, F, Presbyterian College
Jack Hoey, F, Gardner-Webb
Ian Reese, MF, Campbell
Cam Philpot, MF, USC Upstate
Jonathan Bolanos, MF, High Point
Josh Hanratty, MF, Longwood
Myles Yorke, D, Radford
Simen Olsen, D, Gardner-Webb
Nick Phipps, D, High Point
Luca Ziegler, D, Presbyterian College
Jan Hoffelner, GK, Presbyterian College
Victor Valls, AL, Radford

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Siggi Benonysson, F, High Point
Sergio Pinto, MF, Presbyterian College
Thibaut Jacquel, MF/F, Campbell
Victor Menudier, D, Presbyterian College
Markus Gronli, MF, Longwood

All-Freshman Team
Amadou Macky Dip, F, Radford
Tony Pineda, MF, High Point
Marcos Kitromilides, F, Presbyterian College
Matt Lock, MF/F, Campbell
Lalas Ayertey, MF, High Point
Markus Gronli, MF, Longwood
Ben Morrison, D, Campbell
Jeremy Jaquier, MF, Longwood
Andrea Bonavia, GK, USC Upstate
Sam Farrell, GK, Radford
Thure Ilgner, D, Radford

All-Academic Team
Gideon Betz, D, Campbell
Petter Johansen, MF, Gardner-Webb
Daniel Shahim, MF, High Point
Chase Quinn, D, Longwood
Ricardo Hernandez, MF, Presbyterian College
Benjamin Thiss, D, Radford
Joe LaCasto, MF, UNC Asheville
Cam Philpot, MF, USC Upstate
Leif Estevez, MF/F, Winthrop

Attacking Player of the Year
Ilias Kosmidis, F, High Point

Defensive Player of the Year
Johnny Fenwick, D, High Point

Co-Freshman of the Year
Amadou Macky Diop, F, Radford
Tony Pineda, MF, High Point

Coach of the Year
E.J. O'Keeffe, High Point

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Gideon Betz, D, Campbell